Ubuntu 13.04 Rocks

by drlje

I decided, after a great experience with Linux Mint, to put a Linux distro on my laptop. Given its age, I had a few installation problems and finally decided to go straight to Ubuntu without any flavoring and hope for the best. It wasn’t a perfect install, but it was far easier to fix than any other and so I was up and running in no time.

Let me just say that Ubuntu 13.04 absolutely rocks. It is fast, easy-to-use, and clean. It is the best OS I have used and if more people start using it, then more vendors will start supporting it. In fact, the only thing lacking in Ubuntu is strong support from third parties like graphics card makers, game makers, etc. If those groups would come on board, then there would be no stopping Ubuntu. Hopefully Android will help push the adoption of Linux distros, but we’ll see.

In the interim. If you want to try Ubuntu, all you need is a USB drive. You can boot from the USB and try Ubuntu without ever installing it. If you love it, you can either install it over your existing OS or install it so that you can dual boot. Linux makes it easy to dual boot, so that is what I do for those moments when Windows is just an absolute necessity.

That’s all, just wanted to give a shout out to Ubuntu 13. Hopefully I’ll have time to come back and write about all of the great features.

